So, I have no idea what being a mother is like. From the first, when biologically parasitic beings start growing inside your body, to the moment when they exit ungracefully and begin their next phase of growth into financially parasitic beings, it’s all a big mystery to me.

Actually, that last paragraph ably demonstrates quite concisely that I probably still have no idea about being a father either, six months and a bit into the job. But, whatever.

All I know is that these last few months have been hard, on all of us, and that the next few years will probably be harder still, when the potatoes grow up and expand their horizons and we have to give them strict boundaries. Already, we know who will be difficult. And the leading candidate is likely to be me!

Undoubtedly, we will misunderstand each, argue about pointless things and make mistakes. We’ll even be rude to each other. That’s the nature of the stresses of raising children and trying to keep our sanity intact. I can’t say it will be easy, but I know that ultimately it will bring us a lot of joy and happiness. We might even start to enjoy it after a while!

No matter what, I just want you to know that I want to do my part for you and the potatoes, not just appearing as background support. You’re the most precious people in my life, and I want to keep it that way. You’re still The Boss, and I love you all the same.

Leave a Reply

