Some may say WTF?! while others may nod sagely.

I’ve finally finished Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, and what an experience the game is. Kudos to CDProjecky RED, you guys deserve every single cent I spent on the Collector’s Edition, and then some. It is far and away the best RPG I’ve played in a long time. Even better than my beloved Dragon Age: Inquisition. They’re not really the same type of RPG, and this is not a comparison of the two. However, they do have one thing in common, and that is they are best enjoyed at higher difficulty levels.

As an aside, anybody that can’t enjoy different games by different companies for what they are, especially if they’re good, should really go and preach to a mirror.

Now, both games are really big open world RPGs, with multiple large maps and lots (and lots) of quests and little distractions to take your mind off saving the world. Or your adopted daughter. The trouble is, when you’re a completionist, you will over level, without a doubt, and you’ll be so overpowered at the end of the game that it becomes a cakewalk.

I left a whole heap of points of interest unchecked in my first playthrough of Wild Hunt, as well as some contracts and quests untouched. I was still level 33, and the end game boss was level 28. I mean, I’m not a particularly big fan of level scaling ala Skyrim and Mass Effect, but a small amount of it might help.

This is not to say that it was not enjoyable. I still loved playing through the quests, the contract investigations, the story (and what a story it is) and just generally mucking around in the countryside, killing ghouls and cyclopses. And you would still die if you did stupid shit while fighting highish level monsters.

So for the second playthrough, upping the difficulty is a must. This time though, I think I’ll definitely visit absolutely every single point of interest, if only because spending time with Roach the Horse and Storm the Boat is quite enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

