I have no idea what the hell I’m doing, but I’m sure I’ll remember…

We’re kind of spoiled by modern RPGs. They’re now all flashy and real time, with simplified mechanics and some even involve guns and spaceships. Hell, two of my favourite RPG franchises, Mass Effect and Dragon Age are exactly this. But I also fondly remember the days when RPGs showed every single mathematical formula used to calculate damage in battles. Remember Neverwinter Nights and Baldur’s Gate? If you remember those days, then you should be reasonably well prepared for Pillars of Eternity. Otherwise, you might want to go and buy a new calculator.

So, you might ask, just what the frak Pillars of Eternity is. Well, it’s an old school isometric RPG game using some not so modern 3D graphics. But the artwork and environments are lovely. Just like those grand old dames I mentioned earlier. This is also quite a massive game and I’m still figuring out what I’m supposed to do in it. There is the barest hint of a storyline so far, and I have no idea what it’s about.

Think of this series as a very slow, figuring out and walkthrough of what not to do in Pillars of Eternity, since I normally suck at these kinds of games. I mean, I’ve already restarted once and I barely just began the quest lines in the first village hub. Anyway, stay tuned for more, as I explore the world created in Pillars of Eternity.

Leave a Reply

